Double bounce on the net

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 8 years ago

Oliver

Oliver Asked 8 years ago

I saw a match the other day (beijing olympics final ma lin vs wang hao) and noticed that in one of the rallies, ma's flick bounced on the net 3-4 times. The rally was allowed to carry on. However, in one of my matches the same happened but my umpire said I lost the point. What is the real rule?

Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 8 years ago

Hi Oliver,

The ball can bounce on the net more than once.  Once it hits the table thought then the ball is only allowed to bounce once. 


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Oliver

Oliver Posted 8 years ago

If my umpire falsely accuses, what should (or can) I do?rn

Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 8 years ago

Hi Oliver,

It depends if there is a Referee at the event you are playing.  The umpire makes decisions on points of fact.  If there is a Referee then he can make a ruling on the points of law.  In this case because the umpire has made a mistake on the point of law the Referee can overrule him.

If it is in a local league match it is more difficult.  You could try pointing the rule out to the umpire and perhaps ask someone else to confirm it for you.  If that doesn't work you probably just have to accept the umpire's decision and move on. 



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.