Do you shout let

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 5 years ago

Joseph Creamer

Joseph Creamer Asked 6 years ago

 If you serve a let, who shouts let? is it me, my opponent or does the umpire shout let?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 6 years ago

Hi Joseph,

It is only the umpire that is allowed to call a let.  Often if the players think that the serve is a let they will put their hand up while still playing the point.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

D K

D K Posted 5 years ago

And who calls a let in a lower level matches where are no umpires?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 5 years ago

Then both players should agree.


Dieter Verhofstadt

Dieter Verhofstadt Posted 5 years ago

I've seen many low level matches with umpires where the player who saw the let overruled the umpire and the other player abided.

Yesterday I was 6-2 up in fifth set when my opponent complained about the ball being wet. I offered a replay and he accepted. However, I was not sure about the matter and kept musing over the sincerity of the call, losing 9 points in a row.

There's a thin line between being a ruthless player and a complacent one.


Dakota Castleberg

Dakota Castleberg Posted 5 years ago

Dieter, I understand the situation, but isn't the psychological aspect of the game being able put the past points/calls behind you and focusing on the next point? If it was 9-9 and this situation arose, I might be a little off-tilt, but having a 6-3 lead is a situation where there should only allow minimal influence on your mental state, or do you disagree? 



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.