Curving the ball around the net

Rules

Ben Evans
Ben Evans Asked 13 years ago

is it legal to spin the ball around the net when in play?


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 13 years ago

Hi Ben,

Yes it is.  The ball doesn't have to go over the net to be in.  You will see it happen sometimes in high level matches.  Sometimes they even get the ball to roll across the surface of the table.


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Hitting the Ceiling

When the ball hits the ceiling the point is over. You must hit the ball directly back onto the table otherwise you lose the point. In International tournaments the roof needs to be at least 5 metres above the playing surface but in local competitions you might often encounter much lower ceilings.

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


Julio Torres

Julio Torres Posted 13 years ago

The net is an obstacle, but it isnt a rule that says you need to pass the ball over the net

Alois Rosario

Member Badge Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 13 years ago
That's right Julio.


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.