Contact point during service

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 2 months ago

Jai Motishaw

Jai Motishaw Asked 2 months ago

The rule that contact point of ball and racket while serving has to be beyond the table as well as above the table is undisputed. 

However, at my local club, it is also a rule that while one may stand further out of the table sides and serve, the contact point of ball and racket cannot be beyond the sides of the table, it has to be within the tables side white Lines.

I looked up the ITTF rules and there is no mention about NOT being able to serve with contact point outside the table's sides, only mentions has to be behind the table edge and above table height.

Is my local club correct with this rule that contact point cannot be from beyond the sides of the table? 


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 2 months ago

Hi Jai,

You are allowed to serve from beyond the side lines as long as it is behind the line of the table.

You might have to set them straight.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

D K

D K Posted 2 months ago

The ball can be hit outside the table sides,but it has to cross the endline between them,isnt it like that ?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 2 months ago

Hi DK,

It doesn't need to cross either end line just needs to be hit from behind the extension of the end line.



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.