Changing rackets during tournament

Rules

Phillip Simmons
Phillip Simmons Asked 12 years ago

Coach, I know you can not change rackets during a MATCH, under normal conditions.  But is it ok to change rackets during a TOURNAMENT, before the start of your next match?  I read all the rules but did not any mention of this. 

Phil


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 12 years ago

Hi Phil,

From a rules point of view, you can change rackets in a tournament.  There is no rule banning that.

On a technical or tactical viewpoint though, I would only change if there was a real need.  I think changing rackets during a tournament is difficult to adjust to.  If it is just a matter of poor form, I would persevere with the same racket and try to change technique or mindset.


Recommended Video

Can You Hide Your Serve? The Official Rule Explained

Are you allowed to hide your serve in table tennis? 🤔 Let’s break down the official rules and clear up any confusion! In this video, we explain:

✅ What the ITTF rules say about hiding your serve
✅ Why hidden serves are illegal and how umpires enforce the rule
✅ What you can (and can’t) do when serving in a match

Mastering a legal serve is key to fair play and improving your game. Watch now to make sure you’re not unintentionally breaking the rules! 🏓

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.