Changing a damaged racket

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 6 years ago

Shripathi ramakrishnan

Shripathi ramakrishnan Asked 6 years ago

hi alois and jeff,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AoiXWaeb7Xw

In this video, around 14:40 , the match ends abruptly. after a while it is shown that schlager got a bad scratch on his rubber and wanted to swtitch bats but the umpire disqualifies him. 

Why did he disqualify him and can you please explain this switching of bats rule?

thanks


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 6 years ago

Hi Shripathi,

The umpire ruled that he had damaged his racket deliberately so he wasn;t allowed to change his racket and was disqualified.

In the Match regulations it states in 7.3.3:

A player is not allowed to change a racket during a match unless it is accidentally damaged so badly that it cannot be used. If it is discovered that a player has changed an undamaged racket the umpire should immediately suspend play and report to the referee, who may disqualify the player.

 

The important part here is that the damage has to be accidental.  If it is not accidental he cna not change his racket and therefore he is disqualified.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Shripathi ramakrishnan

Shripathi ramakrishnan Posted 6 years ago

that makes perfect sense...i saw another match between timo boll and adrien mattenet where boll seemed to damage his rubber and umpire allowed him to take a different racket. 

also i rarely seen schlager of all players do something like that!

thank you!


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 6 years ago

Yes it was an impulsive action by him.



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.