Banging the table

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 10 years ago

Ishaan Sachdeva

Ishaan Sachdeva Asked 10 years ago

Hi coach my question to you is what happens if during the serve or rally the player hits the table tennis racquet with the table accidentally? does the player loses the point or do they keep on playing? Please if you could answer this question for me as it happens very often with me. 

Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 10 years ago

Hi Ishaan,

You don't lose a point if your bat touches the table so it is play on...  The only thing that isn't allowed to touch the table is your free hand. 

Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Jeff Plumb

Jeff Plumb from PingSkills Posted 10 years ago

The other important rule to remember is that you cannot move the table or you lose the point. So if you somehow hit the table and actually move it, then the point is awarded to your opponent.

Sam Quek

Sam Quek Posted 10 years ago

Another bad thing is: it'll damage the table and the bat if you hit it too hard.

Become a free member to post a comment about this question.