Ball passing end line

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 5 years ago

Aaron Lee

Aaron Lee Asked 5 years ago

Say your opponent hits a high backspin lob. The ball crosses your end line when it is high in the air, but then starts drifting back and looks like it will bounce on your side of the table.

First, once the ball passes the end line from being over the table to above where you usually stand, technically, the point is yours, but it is hard to see in real time with the naked eye. Is it the umpire's responsibility to give you the point? Can you stop the rally to point out that this has occured?

Second, once the ball passes the end line going in the opposite direction, so it is now over the table and is about to bounce on your side of the table, what if you catch the ball?

Third, if you let the ball bounce on your side and do nothing, whose point is it?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 5 years ago

Hi Aaron,

If the ball looks like it has passed the end line on a high lob it is best to let it bounce.  It is the umpires call and he might not see it the same way you do.  If you catch the ball you are putting yourself at risk of losing the point. Play on.

If the ball bounces on your side it would be considered your opponents point.

 


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Jeff Plumb

Jeff Plumb from PingSkills Posted 5 years ago

And if the ball has passed the end line on a fast shot and you catch it, it is definitely your point. If it is a really high lob and you catch it very close to the end line you are risking losing the point as Alois points out because the umpire may not think it has passed the end line. So as Alois suggested I would leave this and see if it actually does bounce on the table. If it does you should be in a good position to make a smash. 



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.