Ball in flight

Rules

Keith Lasher
Keith Lasher Asked 15 years ago

Hello,

After the serve has taken place, and during a rally, are you allowed to hit the ball while it is in flight? In other words, do you HAVE to let it bounce before you hit it back over the net?


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 15 years ago

Hi Keith,

Thaks for the rules question.

The short answer is, Yes, you do have to let it bounce before you hit it.

If you hit the ball before it bounces while it is over th etable, then it is your opponents point straight away.  If however the ball has already gone past the end of the table then it is out and even if you hit it after that it is still your point because the ball is out of play.

Either way, as soon as someone hits the ball before it bounces that is the end of the point.

Hope this helps.


Recommended Video

Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules

In this video, we break down the Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules that even experienced players often get wrong. Knowing these rules can prevent disputes, boost your confidence, and help you play with a clear head. We’ll cover common misconceptions like:

  • The correct toss height for serving 🎯
  • How many let serves can you do before it is a fault 🚦
  • Why touching the table with your free hand is a no-no 🖐️
  • When volleying loses you the point ❌
  • Whether you are allowed to hit around or under the net 🔄

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.