Ball crosses the edge of the table

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 10 years ago

noel laudato

noel laudato Asked 10 years ago

Hi coach,

Is it legal to catch the ball with my hand or hit it with my bat after my opponent hits it and then crosses the edge of my table?

Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 10 years ago

Hi Noel,

Yes this is allowed.  Once the ball goes past the table it is out of play so you can catch it or even hit it with your bat.  The point is still yours because the ball has already gone out.

Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

noel laudato

noel laudato Posted 10 years ago

Thanks coach for the answer.My son just had an experience of once catching a ball past his table and his opponent was awarded with the point.another question,is it legal to accidentally bump the table after a service was made?

Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 10 years ago

You can touch the table with any part of your body except your free hand.  However if you move the table surface you lose the point.

Become a free member to post a comment about this question.