What happens if the server is distracted during serving

Gerard McCarthy

Gerard McCarthy

Last updated on 10-Jul-2011 05:00:49 PM

What should an umpire call in the following situation? A player starts the serve, moving the hand upwards with the ball in contact with the palm of the hand. There is a distraction of some sort, such as a loud noise on the adjacent court or a team mate or opposition team member watching from 2 metres to the side of the table moved quite a lot. The server holds the ball (the ball did not leave the hand at any time) and apologises with reference to the distraction. The umpire did not call a let himself and wasn’t intending to do so. Should the umpire call a let himself or should he call a fault and encourage the player to continue the play unless a let is called? As a player at club level I have done this a few times, and would like to know whether I should expect to lose the point if I do it again.

 

Alois Rosario

and Alois Rosario said...

Hi Gerard,

Technically it is a fault, however the umpire can warn the player.  The player should keep playing until a let is called by the umpire.

In practical terms, his should probably be a let in most cases.  It is not intentional by the server to put off the other player.

Add a commentAdd your own comment to this question

Ask your own questionAsk your own question

Back to questionsBack to the questions

Topics

Ask The Coach