Hitting the ball before the bounce

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 6 years ago

Cory Malvas

Cory Malvas Asked 6 years ago

In the middle of the game when I hit the ball, does the ball have to hit their side first, or can the other person hit the ball while it's in the air?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 6 years ago

Hi Cory,

The ball has to bounce on the table to continue play.  If they hit it before it bounces on their side that is the end of the rally. If the ball is still over the table when they hit it, you win the point.  If the ball has already gone past the end of the table, then they get the point because it is already out of bounds.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.