Last updated on 05-Jul-2008 08:18:49 PM
Hello Jeff and Alois,
Recently I had a discussion with my co-players about clean service. One thing that we were not to sure about was what happens if a ball hits the edge of a table during service. I have checked ITTF rule book and did not find a clear explanation what should happen in such case. So should it be counted as a point if a receiver is unable to return the ball just bacause of the fact that the ball hit the edge of the table and was no chance to predict its' further motion?
This is an easy one. The server wins the point.
The edge of the table is in. It is just good fortune even though the other player doesn't really have a good play on it.